New Dawn, New Day, New Challenges

Cute KidsErnesto and Pamela’s kids, simply adorable!

Service with a Smile

Service with a smile! Helping in a member’s home. 

What an unpleasant surprise. A few months back, Sister Heyman, the wife of our mission president, had a stroke. Since then, she has been in rehabilitation in a hospital in Buenos Aires. Today we received the news that last Thursday, she and President Heyman traveled back to Arizona to continue her treatment. It is uncertain as to whether or not they will return to the mission and it has come a a shock to us all. In the meantime, we have one of the Seventies of the area replacing President Heyman until further notice. He hasn’t been released as mission president, but the future is uncertain. Needless to say, Sister Heyman is in our prayers and fasts constantly.

We never know what trials the Lord will give us to strengthen our faith. I find that I am at times too weak to search for them. I know that it’s the adversity of life that makes us grow, but at the same time I don’t believe any one of us really wants to suffer knowingly…what wise man will stick his hand in the fire after already having been burnt? But lo and behold, the hotter the fire, the stronger the steel.

I keep trying to climb the mountains the Lord places in front of me. Finishing the mission is difficult. I know that a “change” is coming soon, but strive to keep focused because I honestly don’t want to change anything about who I am and who I’ve come to be upon returning home. This experience is one to grow. One to teach me for life, and I want to take advantage of it. I’ve come to see that life’s smallest moments are the most important. As I bought a pair of alpargatas (genuine TOMS) today, we made a few simple contacts in the store and left a few invitations to church with the salesman. Seeing their enthusiasm and excitement upon receiving an invitation to church was priceless. A few college age guys who live their lives in a mall have little chances of being contacted in home. I love how the Lord works through His missionaries.

I now officially have less than a month remaining in this short ministry. I’m going to live it up more than ever. If all goes well, we should have a wedding and four baptisms this Saturday. We have one for sure; a man named Jose Luis who was run over by a bus two years back. Pamela and Ernesto are in the process of doing blood tests and organizing last minute details to be married this Friday, thus making possible the baptism of her and her daughter. Elder Polo, one of my best friends in the mission from Colombia is in his last week in the mission and we’ve had some pretty deep talks lately. Sunday we bore our last testimonies that we will have in Sacrament meeting as missionaries. Such emotions are difficult to describe, but after José Luis, our investigator, bore his testimony and Elder Polo’s investigator, Cristian, bore his, not a single dry eye could be found in the congregation. I feel my Savior’s love, not only for me, but for all the members of this branch.

Branch President with Elder Polo

This is the best mission in the world. It creates leaders. It teaches patience, trust, love and faith. It teaches us how to be Christlike leaders, how to plan for success and how to enjoy life’s many blessings. How is it possible? It is God’s work. It is His one and only true church restored to the earth through a modern day prophet with priesthood keys and eternal families. What a blessing.

I’m a little out of the loop concerning books and schedules for BYU. It looks like I’m only going to be home for about a day, if that, seeing as how the American elders usually get home Friday night or Saturday morning, depending on their flights. In a week or two the office will send me my travel plans. It’s all so surreal, all of this. (Steven actually comes home Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:20am! I thought he had his flight plans already…so we are, needless to say, EXCITED!! He will be home for about three days before heading to BYU to start school January 7th!)

Anyways, I love you and thank you for everything. Never let down your guard. Keep up your spirits and face life’s storms. They always bring blessings 🙂

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

Photos from a zoo in Argentina! Steven LOVES animals, especially birds!
Hello birdie!
GorillagatorCougarOrange Beak
Polly
“Pepe” belongs to a family in his area, a family that the missionaries have reactivated!
About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Corrientes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Dawn, New Day, New Challenges

  1. sandra hochenedel says:

    i think steven remembers my blue-front parrot I brought from Louisiana when I came to La Mesa – before I bought the African Grey named Musette perhaps. I like to think he shares the loves of birds because of me. Ms Sandra

  2. Jill Coddington says:

    Life is so full of ups and downs , challenges and excitement. You certainly have experienced it all. I pray that the last few weeks of your mission are as memorable as the past two years. Coming home will be a big adjustment. Take it one step at a time. Do not expect too much of yourself or others right away. Take the time to reacquaint and readjust. You will carry so many lessons and adventures from this mission with you always. Focus on life, family and those who care. We all do. Much love and safe travels home, Steven. XOXO

Leave a Reply

