The Good Life

Steven wrote this in the morning:

No one knows what holiday it was yesterday (Monday), but everyone loves one more day to be lazy here… haha. I’ll be back in the afternoon. Today we’re going to the zoo! We’ll see just how classy it is…

hasta luego

The “Real” letter this week! 

This is it. A once in a life time opportunity that I am enjoying thoroughly. Not much has happened lately as we still await marriages and investigators in church, but all is good. My companion wants to send me home trunky (homesick) and thinks he’s achieving his goal. I beg to differ, but the truth is one can’t help but think towards the future. I’m striving to maintain myself focused on the present, focused on the missionary vision and my purpose, and doing all within my power to offer salvation to the souls of the people I come in contact with day by day through the gospel of Jesus Christ. Such is the gospel of Jesus Christ summed up in one word: Salvation.

José Luis Rodriguez came back to church this week. A member committed himself to come a pick him up every Sunday to bring him to church. This way he saves $50 pesos($11), a considerable amount, in transport by taxi. The man has an incredible faith and even though his health is damaged after being run over by a bus two years back, he knows God has protected his life for a reason. His legs have been reconstructed with iron implants as bone replacements and he walks well, considering his condition, and loves the church and the Spirit that has testified to him of the truth of the restoration. I, too, love the spirit.

I thank you for your love, letters, and support. The mission has taught me so much and I am eternally indebted to my Savior for His Atonement. I’m understanding it better now than ever before and want to be the purest being I can be for the rest of my life. I have some lofty goals for the months ahead and will be depending on Him considerably. He’s helped me this far, I know he’ll help me in the future as well.

My scriptures of the week:

1 Juan 5:3-5 

 3 For this is the alove of God, that we bkeep his commandments: and his commandments are not cgrievous.

 4 For whatsoever is aborn of God bovercometh the world: and this is the cvictory that overcometh the world, even our faith.

 5 Who is he that aovercometh the world, but he that believeth that Jesus is the Son of God?

1 Juan 4:18-21

 18 There is no afear in blove; but perfect clove casteth out fear: because fear hath dtorment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.

 19 We alove him, because he first loved us.

 20 If a man say, I love God, and ahateth his bbrother, he is a cliar: for he that loveth not his dbrother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not eseen?

 21 And this commandment have we from him, That he who aloveth God love his brother also.

Alma 16:16-17

 16 And there was ano inequality among them; the Lord did pour out his Spirit on all the face of the land to prepare the minds of the children of men, or to prepare their bhearts to receive the word which should be taught among them at the time of his coming—

 17 That they might not be hardened against the word, that they might not be unbelieving, and go on to destruction, but that they might receive the word with joy, and as a abranch be grafted into the true vine, that they might enter into the brest of the Lord their God.

D&C 45:3-8

 3 And this ye shall know assuredly—that there is anone other appointed unto you to receive bcommandments and revelations until he be taken, if he cabide in me.

 4 But verily, verily, I say unto you, that anone else shall be appointed unto this gift except it be through him; for if it be taken from him he shall not have power except to appoint another in his stead.

 5 And this shall be a law unto you, that ye areceive not the bteachings of any that shall come before you as revelations or commandments;

 6 And this I give unto you that you may not be adeceived, that you may know they are not of me.

 7 For verily I say unto you, that he that is aordained of me shall come in at the bgate and be ordained as I have told you before, to teach those crevelations which you have received and shall receive through him whom I have appointed.

 8 And now, behold, I give unto you a acommandment, that when ye are bassembled together ye shall cinstruct and dedify each other, that ye may know ehow to act and direct my church, how to act upon the points of my law and commandments, which I have given.

John 16:33

 33 These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have apeace. In the bworld ye shall have ctribulation: but be of good dcheer; I have eovercome the world.

There’s a few of my motivators. I love the scriptures. As Elder Scott said a year ago in conference, they can be our best friends. I treasure mine dearly.

I thank and love you all,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

 

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Corrientes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Good Life

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    What an inspiration you have been throughout your entire mission, Steven. You are not the only one who has benefited from all that you have experienced.You have grown spiritually, emotionally and physically. The most important part of all , I am sure if the growth you have made spiritually. The lessons you have learned, experiences you have had ( I will still be waiting for your book to come out about your adventures) will be with you for your lifetime and on. I know you will continue to teach and touch others no matter where you are. Happy Holidays to you Steven and know you are always in my thoughts and prayers. XO Mrs. C XO

Leave a Reply

