Agradezco

I am grateful.

Grateful for tender mercies of the Lord. Grateful for the patience of neighbors, brothers, friends, and leaders. It has been a very hot week with a little rain and lots of blessings. Today we bought a new refrigerator for the pension and gifted our old one to our Relief Society president. We spent the most part of the afternoon cleaning it and then carried it by hand as a complete surprise to her house about a kilometer away. The look of complete gratitude and surprise that came to her face was enough to leave us all teary eyed as she cried. I am grateful for love-inspired service.

Pamela and Ernesto are loving the gospel and every time we visit their house they round us the kids and we turn the lesson into a mini family home evening. They love us and we love them and they are all set to get married on the 30 of this month, followed by Pamela and her daughter’s baptism December 1st. They’re already asking us how they can be sealed in the temple. I am grateful for eternal family bonds.

Saturday in a baptismal service, a man who we have helped come back to activity in the church named Sergio Benitez took me by the arm and guided me to be presented to other members I hadn’t before met. As he presented me, he said “This is the Elder that brought me back” and hugged me. My heart melted right there. I am grateful for the converting power of the spirit.

We brought a man to church this weekend who has visited a fair number of churches and even taught as a Catholic school teacher. He always has very profound questions and talks a lot, but is sincere. In church, the members loved him and he loved them. As we visited with him later that afternoon in his house, he told us that he had felt the spirit for the first time the whole time while he was in church and that he had never felt it before anywhere else. He has accepted the invitation to be baptized the 8th of December. I am grateful for truth.

I have grown so much in the mission. I have more love for the Savior than I did when I left, that much is certain. I am more grateful for His atonement, for His gospel, for His Plan of Salvation, and for the guidance He gives me through the Holy Ghost. I am thankful for the leaders he calls and inspires. I am thankful for you, my parents and the blessing you are to my life. I am grateful for my family and for having been able to grow up in one…the family almost doesn’t exist here in Corrientes. Listen to the talks by Elder Cook and Elder Oaks from Conference and they describe what I see daily. I am grateful for the Heaven-inspired scriptures. I love them. I never want my hour of personal study to end. I’ve made new friends as I’ve been able to read. Ammon, Alma, Amulek, Nefi, Peter, Paul, Stephen, and Christ himself.

I am grateful, and forever will be for this experience.

Always,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

PS. Thank you for the financial support, I hate to bother you with such things, but really appreciate it. Con mucho amor, tu hijo.

Here are the talks Steven referenced~

by Elder Cook:   http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/10/can-ye-feel-so-now?lang=eng

by Elder Oaks:   http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/10/protect-the-children?lang=eng

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Corrientes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Agradezco

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    WOW, you are overflowing with gratitude. It is amazing how our lives unfold and bring us so much joy and so many things to be grateful for. I am grateful to be a part of your life and your families . I am grateful for the many blessings you have found on your mission no matter what your hardships. I am grateful for the many people whose lives you have touched in such an incredible way. I know the blessings and lessons you have learned on this mission will be with you forever and shape the man you are to be in the future. As I read your messages I am ever grateful for my family and my friends. One of the things I am forever grateful for are my 34 years at WD Hall that brought so many wonderful families like yours into my life. Stay strong, staty grateful and stay faithful. I have no doubt you will. Much love and Happy Thanksgiving. XOXO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

