Saints and Soldiers

Loved ones,

Here we are after a long week full of strange holidays still alive and doing well. We’ve been hit by some heavy rain and some very different experiences, and at the moment my keyboard is missing a few keys so we’ll see what I can share.

Last Wednesday was “Dia de San la Muerte.” Here in Corrientes, the Grim Reaper is a Saint, and many people worship him. They have their little shrines in front of their houses, they give him offerings, and believe he protects them from death. From what I’ve been able to see, our living God isn’t too pleased with such traditions as he sent rain, thunder and lightning to interrupt the drunken celebrations. The ambiance is completely different here. Idol worship is very prevalent, and the Lord’s work has many difficulties as the adversary owns the hearts of many.

In other news, we’ve been able to set some good goals with the branch president. As of now, the branch has seen 11 baptisms this year, while last year there were 31. We’ve set the goal to have 20 more baptisms before year’s end. A lofty goal, but with the combined efforts of four missionaries, a branch presidency, and as we go about the branch encouraging the members to participate more in the work, we have the faith that we will find success.

In the weekly letter President Heyman wrote me, he said it looks like the Lord has stacked the deck in Corrientes. We have some great missionaries here and I honestly look forward to the work we have to do here. It’s going to require a lot of faith and a lot of sincere prayers, but we will find success with the Lord on our side.

Sunday in Sacrament Meeting, the District President shared an experience he had in the temple in Paraguay Saturday where a fellow temple worker shared a dream he had had where he saw his father. His father had passed away 20 years ago and he had since done all of the temple ordinances for him. Nevertheless, when he saw his father, he still wasn’t in the kingdom of glory he should have deserved, so he asked him why. He said, Father, I’ve done all of the ordinances and twenty years  have passed, why are you still here? The answer of his father, ¨I have work yet to do. Time is short and there are many preparations to be made before the Second Coming, and there is work yet to be done.¨ The District President emphasized the answer given by the man’s father. There is work yet to be done, but time is short. Obviously that touched me quite powerfully with the perspective from which I’m seeing things. Sunday I passed my 19 month mark and I have much work yet to do in very little time. I’m not stressed, but there’s a ton of things I want to  be able to achieve, especially the goal of the branch – 20 baptisms. I’ve been able to see 22 baptisms in my mission…that gives you something of a perspective of what we hope to achieve.

I trust in the Lord and His chosen leaders. I follow their counsel and do my part to help the work progress. In the end, I pray my effort will be enough.

Love always,

— *Elder Steven Reid Walker*

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

P.S. Here’s a link to the new area in which Steven is serving: http://www.welcomeargentina.com/corrientes/corrientes-architectural-style.html

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Corrientes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saints and Soldiers

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    Things are always interesting in your neck of the world , Steven. I feel sure that you will stay extremely focused and work hard in the remaining time you have left. Trust in your faith and in the love you have for what you are doing. You have so many around the world supporting you. I continue to be so proud of the man you have become. You have so many wonderful months and years ahead of you to write the book I hope you will write about your Argentinian adventures !! XO

Leave a Reply

