A Warm Winter

I still haven’t learned how to follow the weather patterns of this place. Monday we were bundled up with sweaters and all, and come Thursday, the sun is blazing and we’ve fallen below the skin coloring rays yet again. I don’t get it, I’m not going to try to understand it, not even the locals understand it. They just say “that’s the way August is here”. It wasn’t like this in Jardín America, but alright haha. I like it. I prefer a toasty sun to the cold any day.

First off, HAPPY BIRTHDAY LUKE! ¡Que los cumpla feliz, que los cumpla feliz, que los cumpla Lucas Walker, que los cumpla feliz!

Go listen to the song “Be a Man” from Mulan and get used to being a man. 18 years old. I don’t get it…It feels like when I left the pause button got hit and I was going to get home with everyone the same. Not so, I suppose. I guess I’ll be 21 here soon too, so hey, it’s the circle of life.

It’s been a tiring week full of walking, changing weather, sickness everywhere, members hospitalized in all parts, and prayers for the well being of all. A strong flu virus has hit the region and so far one of my favorite families has had to pass he whole week taking care of their dad, Hermano Ruiz Diaz, in the care clinic, and my branch president was sent to Posadas for special care as his newborn son isn’t recovering here. Oh how I appreciate modern medicine, cleanliness, nice living conditions and technological developments of my motherland.

It’s transfers week yet again and this time it’s almost certain that someone goes. Six months with my Spaniard and it looks like times up, rotations come and I’ll have updates next week about the changes should I stay or should I go. It’s his birthday this Wednesday as well, not to mention the birthday of Lorenza this Friday, so what did we do? We celebrated Argentine style with a nice asado complete with beef, chicken, and lamb. Needless to say, my stomach is full and hurting a bit after enjoying every bite.

I’m glad you all enjoyed Carlsbad. Time goes by so quickly that I honestly forgot you were there until I read your letters today haha.

I’m trying to follow the Spirit better, as always, love more as Christ would, enjoy more the time I have to be set apart as His representative, and working hard to stay focused. Losing focus is the greatest enemy to this sacred work.

I’m well, ready for more challenges, and happy to be a servant of our Eternal King.

With Love,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

 

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Warm Winter

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    How great to see your face, black tooth and all. Looks like you were having fun!! Your dinner sounds yummy and no wonder you stomach was full. With all of the work and walking that you are doing I am sure you work up a big appetite. Besides you have a lot of leg to fill up !!! You keep getting taller, I think. The look on your face shines with the love of all you are doing on your mission. You can tell this agrees with you no matter how tough the times get. Argentina is lucky to have you !! Stay well. XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

