Six Months to Save the World

 

Steven’s Zone Conference (Found this little treasure on Facebook!)

 

Oh how little I like to think that I only have six months left down here. Honestly, now more than ever I am absolutely loving the mission. I feel closer to my Savior and my Father in Heaven than ever before, I’m learning and growing, I feel the true reality of the Gospel more and more every time I share it, and with every new person I meet, I want to be able to stay forever to be able to see them progress in the Gospel and take part in the beautiful covenant of baptism. Sometimes the words I use are a bit exaggerated or more elegant than what I really feel, but seriously, in all honesty, I’m so glad this mission thing is not confined to two years of service and that it will carry on after my return home.

In the letter from Dad, you made me remember what you had told me about Grandpa–how he had lead the family in prayer as a patriarch in his weakest moment. It seems like you, too, have been able to do the same as you have passed through some pretty heavy trials, all the time with the head held as high as possible (not that I’ve been able to see it) and with obvious optimism and faith in your voice (not that I’ve been able to hear it either). You’re a champion, my hero, and quite the awesome guy.

As for you, mom, the family cheerleader and always lively blonde, I can tell your search for spiritual knowledge has helped you quite a bit in terms of your spiritual progress as well. Every time we turn to the Lord for answers we find more happiness when they come. The world answers a lot slower and with less conviction. That’s something the mission has taught me. We can’t find the answers our soul longs for without going to the Lord to find them. It requires humility, patience, trust in the Lord and a diligent effort on our part, but the answer never disappoints us.

Honestly, I don’t know what the best part of the week was. We feel good about our work, I feel stronger spiritually, I feel happier and more motivated than ever, and my only disappointment is that I haven’t been able to feel so good every day of the mission. The Lord’s work will always move on and I love being a part of it.

About the cruise, I vote for the European cruise that Grandma and Grandpa did. Just a thought.

Thank you for your prayers, for your persistence in times of trial, and for being such incredible examples of faith. I’ve been meditating a bit throughout the week and have been remembering a lot of the spiritual experiences I had in my youth, many of which are the cause of the testimony I now have. I think I’ve recognized that the testimony I thought was mine was really based quite firmly on yours, but am quite pleased to say that now I am more than certain on my own that what I am doing is real and true. I’ve always known it, but I don’t know, it feels more real now than ever. Thank you for everything. God must love us all quite a bit to put us together.

Anyways, I really don’t know what else to say this week. I want to work. I want everyone to enjoy the profound joy that comes from a personal relationship with our Father in Heaven and His son, Jesus Christ. It’s quite a treat.

Always,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six Months to Save the World

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    WOW, only 6more months of your mission. How quickly the time has gone by, Maybe not for your family but I know it has for you !!! Your days have been so full and your adventures so many. What amazing memories you are making that will impact your life forever. One thing is for certain your family has a profound and amazing influence on you and who are you.You are so blessed. It is wonderful for you to see how blessed you are. Sometimes we take those things for granted but when you see how others live their lives and how many do not have the supportive and loving family like you have you really appreciate what you have. Your Mom and Dad are wonderful people as well as teachers. I know they learned from loving caring parents , also. These are things that you will pass along to your family in later years, too. The blessings will continue to flow.I feel so blessed to know all of you and to be able to follow you on this mission . You are an amazing young man , Steven. I continue to be eternally proud of you for all you are doing. Much love and caring, XOX Mrs. C

  2. Susan Patterson says:

    I was very touched & inspired by your blog. Thanks. Enjoy every minute!

Leave a Reply

