I am a Child of God

A loving Heavenly Father has sent me here. For how long, I do not know, but it doesn’t concern me. I have been blessed with loving and incredible parents who have raised me to love and respect the Lord, to keep His commandments and remember Him always. I love you, Mom and Dad, and thank you with all the sincerity of my heart for the effort you put into me. I might not have always recognized it in the moment, but I know you love me, can feel the power of your prayers, and am so grateful for the wonderful family my Father in Heaven has given me.

Among the many things I’ve been able to see on the mission, I think that which has stood out most to me above all other commotion is the fact that the family in and of itself is on the brink of extinction. Very few children live with both of their parents, many more don’t even know both of their parents. Some live in the streets, only passing time in the house to have a place to sleep. Men have children with multiple women, women have children with multiple men, and at times, it has become such a normal disaster to me that I think I don’t recognize it as often as I once did.

Seriously, how blessed we are to have a forever family. I can’t even imagine the concept of not knowing my parents, or worse, knowing my parents, but knowing I was the result of a selfish search for pleasure. Sorry to put it bluntly, but Satan has such a real grip on the world its disgusting. I’m willing to fight to the death to keep my family strong.

That said, I’ve been at peace the majority of the week. Something surprising is that Wednesday, the thought came to my mind in the morning that it was Grandma’s moment. It came as a voice of comfort and consolation, and I’ve been at peace since. Your strength and faith strengthens me and I thank you. You’re the best family I could have chosen.

We have transfers in a week and it’s pretty certain that one of us is going to go. After three transfers together, it’s not likely that we stay together much longer. Especially since my son has grown up well and quite quickly, I’m sure the Lord is ready for him to take on another challenge. Whether he stays here and I go, or I stay here and he goes, we’re preparing ourselves for the change.

My faith in things that are true is growing. The promises that the Lord gives us are true things. The promise that we will live with our families forever if we endure to the end is something that I know is true. It gives me courage to keep on fighting the wickedness in the world knowing that all man must know the Lord’s promised blessings should they care to participate of them.

Thank you for your love and devotion. I know my letters aren’t the most personal, and I apologize for that. Suffice it to say that I love you all, I pray for you individually when I can, and know we will all be together again someday.

With all my love,
Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia
Entre Rios 435
3500 Resistencia, Chaco
Argentina

“There was an investigator around here…We got there and the house had disappeared…haha!” Oh Argentina!

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am a Child of God

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    Sorry it took me so long to repsond to your post. I was in California with my Mom and Dad. Life has so many twists and turns. I know you are experiencing that in Argentina. As I have said many many times, Steven, I know what a difference you are making in these people’s lives . I also feel sure that the twists and turns that you are experiencing are making you a stronger and wiser man. You will carry these ” adventures” with you throughout your life and draw on all that you have learned. Always keeping you in my thoughts , XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

