Taming Winter

Buen día, mis queridos,

I rejoice for you as the gray skies of gloom dissipate and welcome the sun in its glory. I see somewhat of a lovely comparison between the change of the dreary seasons and the second coming of brightness and glory. While winter can be long and at times threatening with its piercing cold, the darkness always turns to light as we enter the renovation of springtime bloom and summer sun. Likewise, while we may pass through trials and tribulations, while we may be faced with agonizing disappointments and worrisome frustrations, the Savior invites us to come see the light of hope that he provides us. He will come again. Sorrow will end. We will rejoice to see the progress we have made as we’ve trusted in Him and dedicated our lives to Him. The storms will pass and the Son will be seen again.

I’m so grateful to that perfect man. He’s done more for me than I’ll ever realize, and every day I feel I find more support thanks to His atonement, and for such love I am eternally grateful.

I feel at peace. I am a repented man and owe my life to a being greater than I. I strive to become perfect in him and thank him for everything. What a grand blessing we have to know the truth – to know that our Savior lives and that he has restored the fulness of His gospel, which includes the Plan of Salvation, that we may be at peace. We are blessed. Bendito sea el nombre del Dios altísimo, sí, nuestro Señor y Salvador Jesucristo.

It was a good week. Between trips to Puerto Iguazú for baptismal interviews and trips to Eldorado for interviews and training with President Heyman, we are back in Puerto Rico and learning how to love and help this little branch grow. We’re working with a 12 year-old girl named Vicky right now and hope to see her baptized this week, if all goes well.

My companion keeps me excited and on my toes. He’s really teaching me teamwork. I’ve always been a solo thinker, but he’s not allowing me to plan or do anything unless he’s involved. We’ve got a good sense of unity and I feel the spirit strongly as we teach. It’s been a blessing to train. Another testament that the Lord knows us better than ourselves and that he knows what we need.

Above all, my beloved brethren, remember, remember that ye must have hope. If there be no hope, there be no faith. If there be no faith, there be no miracles. If there be no miracles, God has ceased to work among the children of men. Brethren, let us be a hopeful people. Let us look to the light of Christ and be carried away in His greatness. I love Him, and I love all of you. May He bless you.

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

P.S. Look up the Reflections of Christ slideshow on YouTube of like 7 minutes.

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taming Winter

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    Your days continue to be filled with faith and fulfillment. I can only imagine how full your heart and your life is each and every day. Thinking of you Steven. XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

