Time Takes Change, Change Takes Time

Familia mía,

There’s so much to learn and so many thoughts that cross my mind lately it’s got me really quite pensive. Prayer has become my salvation more now than ever as I search the guidance of the spirit, and I keep working, even though at times I feels I’m not working as effectively as I should be able to. Between training, being a district leader, helping the little branch here, finding new investigators, and teaching, it seems the only thing that’s been eluding our list of frequent activities are baptisms. We’re anxiously working with a number of good people, but it seems that the adversary is fighting more now than ever and everyone has come across quite large obstacles that have been impeding their progress. I feel like the Lord is waiting for us to have more faith before these people can take their next steps.

I’m learning and growing, and as much as I’d love to be learned and grown already, I accept every challenge as it presents itself and strive to move forward with more faith. I need to rely less on myself and more on the Lord.

Anyways, it’s been a rather normal week. Lots of exercise…some of the streets here are ridiculously steep, almost to the point that as we’re climbing them I can stick my hand out straight in front of me and touch the street. They destroy cars and strengthen missionaries. Last night, as we reached the summit of one of the streets, we ran into one of the members from the branch waiting out in front of the house of one of his neighbors. When he saw us, he ran over and told us that the people in the house there hadn’t left for months because someone had been playing with black magic and an evil spirit had entered the house and was tormenting the family. It sounds like something from a movie, but it’s legit and not the first time I’ve had to deal with it on the mission. When the family finally attended us, or at least the Señora of the house, we sat down and she asked us, trembling, for a prayer. Alright, that’s what we do all the time, no problem. What I thought was going to be a normal routine prayer and house blessing turned into a fight for words. It was one of the strangest sensations I’ve ever felt. It seemed like something was trying to lock my tongue, not physically, but I had to focus intensely to be able to speak. I felt a little bit like Joseph Smith as he said that an unseen being from the other side of the veil fought to prevent him from speaking. I struggled to finish the prayer, closed it, and as I did, the four of us that were seated there felt a noticeable relief. The whole experience made me think about 2 Nephi 32:8-9 where it says that the evil spirits teach us that we shouldn’t pray. Lucky for us, we know that there is power in prayer. True, heavenly power.

Let us be faithful. Let us be worthy to call on the Lord’s hand to help us in times of need and uncertainty. Let us have confidence in the words of our leaders to guide us in all things that we must do; they are called of God.

I am not ashamed to be a representative of Christ, maybe not always as bold as I should be, but I’m working on it.

Thank you for your prayers, I can feel them.

Always,

Your faithful servant and constant friend,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

 

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

