A Few Lessons Learned

I’ve learned a few things in my time here. One would hope so. Among the most important and most precious things I have learned is that when one feels a prompting of the Spirit, one must follow that prompting. They come for a reason and are always directed towards blessing the life of another. We learn that God always answers prayers, and often does so through other people. I try daily to listen closely to the Spirit so that maybe today I can be an effective tool in the Lord’s hand to answer someone’s prayer. I love you, family. I pray for you often and know that no matter what happens, you’ll all be fine. We’re possessors of a fine treasure; we know that the Lord has a plan for us, and we know exactly what we must do to play our part.

We didn’t go to Iguazu today, obviously. I’ve got to go to the Police first to get a paper declaring my residence here so it doesn’t cost me a ridiculous amount to enter. That said, we’re going next week.

We’ve had some pretty spiritual experiences this week, mixed in with a few disappointments, but such is expected when one works with agency. We keep learning, we keep growing, the student teachers the teacher and I thank the Lord for this opportunity to train.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’m going to take away from the mission. I’ve set my goals and we’ve implemented a few into our companionship as well. I want to fully live the gospel. I’m much more dedicated to prayer now, I’ve felt its power and I know its necessary. especially praying out loud. I read the scriptures more diligently really seeking answers more than just studying them as text books. We’ve set a goal together to read the Book of Mormon together every night before going to bed. I look forward to seeing the blessings that it will bring us. We also sing hymns every night before planning. The hymns have a special power to invite the Spirit so strongly, I don’t know why I haven’t sung more during my mission. Those are just a few things, but I enjoy them, and know they’re habits I’ll bring home with me.

Live the gospel more fully. We heard in conference that it’s easy to be active in the church, but inactive in the gospel. Analyze just how fully you’re applying the gospel principles to your daily life. I promise it will help you feel more complete, more in tune with the spirit, and will grow closer to the Savior as you do so.

In other news, Elder Moore from our Stake is now my zone leader haha. Funny how small the world is.

Mom, Dad, take care of yourselves. Talk a lot. Be open. Many things seem to be burdens we’re meant to bear alone, but that’s not Christ’s plan. Your successful communication has inspired me. I love you.

Luke, McKay, Marissa, don’t grow up to fast. Spend more time with the family. When you’re out on your own, they’re the only people that will really always remember and care about you. What’s more, the memories you have with the family are the memories you remember easier. They’re the most important. After all, the plan is to be together as a family forever, right?

Love you all, as I always will

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

3500 Resistencia, Chaco

Argentina

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Puerto Rico. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Few Lessons Learned

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    Your dedication and love are to be admired Steven. I know that your devotion is an inspiration to those around you. I am always touched by your personal notes to your family. I know how much they miss you but how proud they are at the same time. You are setting such a good example for your siblings. i especially am impressed by your positive attitude no matter how tough things may
    be. You are growing in so many ways while you are there. You will have so many more tales to tell on your return. Stay safe and stay strong , i know you will. XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

