The Lord is My Shepherd

The Lord is my Shepherd.

The Spirit is strong in the mission right now. We’re setting goals and accomplishing them, developing plans and executing them, receiving instructions and following them, and the Lord is blessing us greatly.

These past few weeks, I’ve been lead back to time and time again the words of Elder Christofferson, Elder Foster, and now Elder Chape. They have been telling us how we really are their companions in this work, and now I have really been able to see just how that is. Essentially, We are the directing authorities here in this mission. As President Heyman told us yesterday in Resistencia in our conference for Zone Leaders, the Lord has sent us to this specific mission because we have the capacity to serve the church, it’s members, train them, teach them, uplift and edify them, instructing them as to how the church should function, while at the same time, serving other missionaries and helping them in their difficulties and accomplishments, teaching them how to fulfill their purpose, and on top of it all, fulfill the missionary purpose of helping others enter the waters of baptism.

I don’t know how normal it is for 20 year old elders to have private meetings with general authorities, but seriously, we’re blessed greatly here in Clorinda and the Lord is preparing us for great things without a doubt. It’s very humbling.

Saturday we had a baptism of a family of four. In attendance were some of their family members (investigators), very few members, President Heyman, the district president, and Elder Chape of the Seventy (I don’t know how to spell his name, but he’s from Uruguay). Sunday was our district conference, and Monday, we were in Resistencia again. Today and tomorrow, we are doing divisions with the assistants, and it looks like we’re going to double the baptisms the mission expects of our zone this month. The Lord is good.

With all the good, there’s always a little kink. Sunday, the Hermana Heyman tried to move the President’s car, and in the photos you can see what happened haha. In the photo where we’re just standing there looking around, the faces you can see from left to right are my companion, Elder Chape, Hermano Rojas from my branch, and me. In the other, men at work. Golden.

To answer your questions, Mom, It takes about two weeks for the letters to get to the Mission office, then about one more to get to me. The office sends us what we need once a week. Once a month, typically the first Monday, we go to Res-town for Consejo de los Lideres de Zona. I have looked at my blog, I just can’t update it on my own. As for shoes, black leather – size 12 or 45. I say 45 because that’s how Ecco does their sizing. I’m eating just fine, just wanted a little flavor haha. I haven’t been able to see the Christmas devotional yet, but I think they’re going to re-broadcast it here in a few weeks. Chocolate? I gave the majority of it to the youth here. It’s already gone… haha. And, I have seen the pictures of the new church videos. First class indeed.

I have a lesson right now I need to get to with a girl we’re going to baptize this Saturday, so I’ve got to get over there, but I love you all. The church is true, its leaders are called of God, and God will win in the end. Let’s make sure we stay on His team.

Always,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

Resistencia, Chaco 3500

Argentina

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Clorinda. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lord is My Shepherd

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    Lots of good news with this note. I am so happy but not surprised to hear this. I have such faith in you and your mission in Argentina. I know that you are pursuing your goal to help these people in your area. With your love and dedication to your faith I know you will continue to find success. I am sure that you understand that there will be disappointments and trials along the way but with the love you have for God you will continue on with steadfastness to deleiver His message. Much love and caring thoughts for you and for many more successes along your path.
    Mrs. C
    PS Had our first snowstorm this week.It has been mighty chilly here. in the minuses in the mornings with a high of 25-30 during the day!! Looks like winter is coming to Durango!

Leave a Reply

