What a Wonderful World

I’m thankful for organization. We don’t have much of it here. We do have a lot of inactive, a lot of apostate, and a lot of very confused members. The branch is falling apart and there’s only so much we can do as the missionaries. One of the grand problems the church has here in it’s youth is that the members think that missionary work is the responsibility solely of the missionaries, and that the branch president has to visit each and every one of them and has to inform them personally of all the happenings. There is much to learn – among the members and among the missionaries.

I’m thankful for goals. We have been striving to work more with the members – finding, teaching, and baptizing their friends and relatives, and helping them understand their responsibilities as members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It’s difficult, and I sincerely feel like a lot of our investigators aren’t getting all the attention that they need, but the members are so crucial in the process of helping the new investigators and converts that both teams need to know how to play their position.

I am thankful for miracles. I witnessed at least two this week. Number one, in the mission we saw 69 baptisms and confirmations this past weekend. We were going to have 10 in our zone, but seven fell through. The adversary is strong, but the Lord will win in the end. We’ve have since talked with those seven investigators and four are to enter the waters of baptism this Saturday, the other three will follow suit the 17th. We looked over all the possibilities we have for the month and it looks like we’re going to be able to have at least 10 baptisms. Epic Satan face punch. Miracle number two would be the letter Mom sent me with the talk by President Romney. What power. It got here in just the right moment. I am thankful for a spiritual and obedient mother.

I am thankful for art. There isn’t much here, but in every Liahona I read, I find a painting or representation that touches me, sometimes more powerfully than the articles. I am thankful for talents. I need to develop more haha.

I am grateful for the example of Jesus Christ. It’s difficult being a leader. It really requires an incredible amount of faith to be able to correct and lead others, especially with the feelings of imperfection that are always present. It’s hard for me to correct others when I personally am struggling with the same problems or goals as they are. I just try to push myself harder. I am thankful for the Atonement of Christ and the opportunity to repent.

I am thankful for shoes. Even when they’re falling apart. I’ll be needing new ones soon. Sadly, these poor boys don’t look like they’ll be making the return trip with me.

I am thankful for loving parents. They raised me good. I’ve got some great role models to look up to. Looks like I’m going to have to stick around in California after this adventure comes to an end. I’m not rushing it though, I want all the time here possible.

I am thankful for prayers. I feel their power. I am thankful for those that pray for me and all the other missionaries in the world. We need those prayers. They keep us alive. Sometimes literally haha.

I am thankful for the opportunity to thank. Thanksgiving doesn’t exist here. The society in general takes everything for granted. What a world we live in.

I am thankful for the Gospel and all the joy and peace it has brought to my life. I am grateful for the time I have to share something so precious to me with our lost brothers and sisters.

Thank you all for everything.

Seriously.

Elder Steven Reid Walker

Misión Argentina Resistencia

Entre Rios 435

Resistencia, Chaco 3500

Argentina

Mom, I have a new list of things I’d like 🙂 When you can, of course.

New shoes – size 12/ 45(european size)

Gold bond powder

Cliff bars

Protein powder

Lipton onion mix

If I have any other Ideas, I’ll let you know

Love ya!

Link to talk I sent Steven: https://lds.org/ensign/1981/09/we-believe-in-being-chaste?cid=email-shared&lang=eng

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Clorinda. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Wonderful World

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    How wonderful to see the pictures of you, Steven. You are looking well. I am sure that seeing your pictures is wonderful for your Mom and Dad and entire family . It makes me feel great to see them, too. Life seems to be moving along at a rapid pace for you. Each day brings a new challenge and new adventures. I know that there must be times when you feel like you are not making a difference. But… even if you have helped one person you are making a difference in that person’s life. Keep on with your devotion and commitment, Steven. Hard times and challenges are what we grow from. With each new trail that you encounter you learn and widen your knowledge , You search for a way to use your faith to find a solution. Think of how you are expanding your world and your message to so many each and every day.
    On another note, I do hope you get some new shoes. With all the work and walking you do, I am sure you need a sturdy and comfortable pair. You do have so much to be thankful for Steven. I am thankful for many things at this time of year . One of the things I am thankful for are the many families and students from WD Hall that I was able to work with and get to know over my 34 years at Hall. I count your family as one of my most treasured blessings. Stay strong Steven. Thinking of you each day. XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

