Updates

Honestly, nothing new to report. Sorry to get your hopes up haha. It’s been a week of work and results. We had our Zone Leader consejo Monday and had the opportunity to have a question and answer session with the stake president of Resistencia to get a better idea of what he, and other leaders of the church, expect and would like to see from the missionaries. It opened my eyes quite a bit, and as with everything I’m learning and applying now in the mission, I can see how much the experiences I have now in the mission will help me on later on in life.

Being a leader is a privilege and a burden. A responsibility few can bear. Christ showed us how one must lead–with love, vision, and purpose. I’m learning daily from Him.

I also had a lovely little confirmation of my testimony this week. I’m falling in love with the scriptures more and more every day as I get lost deeper and deeper in the beautiful words contained on those lovely pages. I simply cannot deny the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon. The Spirit testifies far too strongly of its legitimacy. With such a knowledge, there is not a doubt or question that will ever cause me to fall from this firm foundation upon which I have built my testimony. Joseph Smith was a prophet of God. No one who reads the book with real intent will be able to deny that.

Needless to say, I have a new favorite apostle: Elder Christofferson. On the same topic, I was recently reading his talk from a few conferences back on the blessings of Scripture. What power. These books, the Bible and the Book of the Mormon, Doctrine and Covenants and the Pearl of Great Price, truly speak the words of Salvation.

What else happened this week… We had seven investigators in church, a grand accomplishment after weeks of 0s, 1s, and 2s. The Lord is blessing us for our efforts to work with the members more and more.

I don’t know if I mentioned it last week or not, but Adrian packed up all his things and took off for Buenos Aires with his three kids seeking refuge with his family, only to be rejected by them. The branch president of the other branch here in Clorinda called me pleading for me to do something to help Adrian, as he was living in the streets of Buenos Aires with three kids. I ended up calling Adrian, found out where he was, and then searched for the numbers of bishops in the area. In the end, we contacted some, but we don’t know how much help he’s received up to this point. We do know he’s got a room in his mom’s house for now at least. It’s so heartbreaking seeing a 37 year-old man completely destroyed by a woman who betrayed him with the terrors of his and her past life. It gives me a ton of hope however to see how he’s doing all he can to stay strong in the church, even though he has nothing right now.

The work goes on, Luke, you gave me some much needed inspiration today, I thank you. I refuse to let anything get in the way of my work as a missionary.

Mrs. C, you’re awesome. Thank you so much for the constant support and comments. I apologize that I haven’t been able to respond very frequently, but I sincerely appreciate your love.

To the rest of you, I thank the Lord for giving me a heart to love you all and the opportunity to know you. To those who read this that I don’t know, I love you too. The love of Christ extends to all.

Have a fantastic week, people.

Elder Steven R. Walker

And a very Happy Thanksgiving to all of you who read this. My heart is full of gratitude for my Savior, my life here on earth, and every blessing and gift from above. I am so eternally grateful for truth, peace, love and joy. May you count your many blessings this week and always! Smiles, Marsi, Steven’s momma 🙂

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Clorinda. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updates

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    Steven , you brought tears to my eyes when I read your comments. How privileged I feel to be included in your message. Thank you for your kind words. It means so much to me. It is with great love and pride that I write to you each time you send us all a message. I am overwhelmed with your love and devotion to your faith and those you are trying to help and minister to. Adrain is a lucky man to have you in his corner. I feel sure that you will do as much as you can to help this man and to lead him to a better and more fulfilled life.I also feel sure he feels the blessings you are sending his way. Hopefully, he can get some help in Buenos Aires and be able to care for his chidren and give them a safe and loving environment. I will add him to my prayers along with those for you each day. Keep up your amazing work, Steven. I hope that I have the opportunity to see you when you come home from your mission. Until then I will continue to be inspired by you and your dedication and love of your faith. Much love, Mrs. C XO
    PS As we celebrate Thanksgiving here in the states, I will add you to my list of blessings and reasons to be thankful each day. I am so glad I had the opportunity to teach you and get to know your amazing family.

  2. Kay Little says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Elder Walker,
    I don’t know if you even know who I am, but just wanted to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving, and thank you for the wonderful work you are doing in Argentina. I look forward to your emails, and always feel inspired when I read them. Thanks for your amazing faith, and for sharing your experiences with us! My husband is the Branch President of the Santee YSA Branch. It is such a blessing to work with the YSA’s of our stake. We just had three YSA’s get ready to receive the Mel. Priesthood last week, and prepare to serve missions. Also, we have had missionaries living in our home for the past year, and we love that experience. Having missionaries live here and seeing their hard work and dedication is truly an inspiration, and helps me want to share the gospel with my friends. Thanks for all you do to further the work of the Lord in Argentina, and thanks for sharing your experiences.

Leave a Reply

