Happy Birthday to YOU, Elder Steven Reid Walker!

My heart is full of love and gratitude this day as I reminisce on the life of my precious baby boy, now my man child, but always my baby. Steven is 20 years old today, and I couldn’t be happier to know he is in the right place at the right time of his life. I turned 20 while in Hawaii, attending BYU Hawaii, and I am so happy my missionary is turning 20 in the land of Argentina, striving to teach the gospel of Jesus Christ. He is such an inspiration to me, and has taught me so much about life~endurance, patience, hope and devotion. I remember the first time I held my son in my arms and looked in his beautiful eyes…I said to him, “Welcome to the world, Steven…we’ll go shopping together and you’ll go on a mission…” and then I just held him tight as we all smiled and cried and rejoiced! He is a definite shopper, in fact, one of his first words was “Target!”, pronounced “taw – det!” And now he is fulfilling my second hope for him, that of serving a mission…

He was a mild child, and rather timid until he realized his potential. Steven was bright in every way and a wonderful reader, as we read to him in the womb and he has read throughout his life. It is serving him well now as he studies in a foreign tongue. As he grew, I realized the similar personality and character traits we shared. It proved to be quite tumultuous at times when during the teen years, we butted heads and a few walls received his not-so-gentle touch! Oh, the joys of parenthood…but I wouldn’t trade a minute of it for the joy I feel in my heart and soul today.

It is hard to believe that 20 years have passed since that blessed “birth”day. I thought the world had literally stopped–it was the most surreal experience to actually give birth to another human being. I am so grateful to my Father in Heaven for blessing me with the opportunity to be a mother, to raise my children in the true gospel of Jesus of Christ. I add my testimony to that of my son’s…I know the truths Steven teaches are real and I believe in the Lord’s glorious plan of Happiness. I lived in heaven before I came to earth, I’m here to receive my body, make choices and experience the joys and pains of mortality, and I know I will live with my Savior and family again forever. It is these truths that make me who I am today. I have read and studied The Book of Mormon and I testify it is another testament of Jesus Christ, and goes hand-in-hand with the Holy Bible. 

Now today, as I think about my sweet son, I share with you some pictures of his life and the milestones that brought him to where he is today. Thank you for stopping by for a visit on our blog. Letters are posted weekly, for the most part, and excitement await as you read Steven’s Adventures in Argentina! Happy Birthday, again, to my awesome kid, my giant in heart and spirit (and height–he’s a mere 6’7″) and remember Steven, “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.” (From the book we read, “Love you Forever.”) ~Hugs, Momma Woman xoxo

My future missionary…Steven’s Blessing Day. 

Baptism Day! 8 years old

I love the look on his face as we drove to the airport…it is so reflective, so deep…so Steven

The final goodbye between Father and Son…
Mormon Night at the Padres! We got to walk on the field to celebrate Mormon Helping Hands Day across California and Hawaii this past April. We are doing our service here while Steven serves there in the land of Argentina. 

The beautiful San Diego Temple!

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Argentina. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday to YOU, Elder Steven Reid Walker!

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    What a beautiful celebration of Steven’s birthday. I have been thinking about him all day and hoping he could do something to make him feel as special as he is today. Much love to all of you XOXO

Leave a Reply

