Cambios (Changes)

Why hello.

Short on time, yet again, as I was in Resistencia all day yesterday for leadership meetings with el Presidente and all the other Zone Leaders of the mission. I have been transferred yet again, and I also have new responsibilities. I am now in Clorinda “la linda” as a Zone Leader now. Back in Formosa again and pumped up to work through the summer in the above 115º heat. I never cease to be amazed with the workings of the Lord. He needs me here now and I’m just going to keep working. Work – something I’m grateful my dad taught me how to do.

The travel was fine, no hitchhiking this time, but there were protesters who had cut the route, so I did have to get off the bus and walk about two kilometers with my suitcases, through the protesting mob, and board another bus on the other side. I freaking love the ridiculousness of this country. I can see Ascunción Paraguay from my pencion, the temple is less than an hour away and I still can’t go. Lovely little sacrifices.

The work is a lot different here than my last two areas. We have a chapel here, there’s about 50 people that assist our branch, and a lot of them go to the temple every Saturday. It gives them a notable strength. On top of that, we also have our own radio show here haha. An hour a night, two nights a week, we get to teach the city via radio. Legit.

I’ve already started “leadershipping.” Did divisions with some suffering elders last week and found the Paraguayan version of Gollum. Poor guy had a spine operation or something and walks super stiff. Because of the operation and all, his voice is all pressed and he sounds like cute little Smeagle from the Lord of the Rings. Hopefully he progresses up there in Laguna Blanca, a pueblito here in my zone.

I’m praying for you all, thank you so much for your prayers as well.

I am, as always, your never deviating friend,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

I looked up the town of Clorinda on Google Earth…what a beautiful green area! And fyi, a “Zone Leader” is a missionary in charge of an entire area of the mission, along with all the elders and sisters serving there. He will report to the President of the mission and fulfill many leadership duties. Go Steven! Thanks for following the blog, friends and family. Feel free to share with the world! 🙂 Smiles, Marsi, a very blessed and proud momma

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Clorinda. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cambios (Changes)

  1. sandra hochenedel says:

    you and reid taught him well. i saw it all thru the years. my big surprise is how “wordy” our Elder is. I could never get him to commit to a single outspoken word or discussion. he just took a piano lesson and went home to practice well. Same thing year after year. He is a joy to behold.

  2. Jill Coddington says:

    Great work , Steven. I have no doubt they made a good choice when they picked you for a leadership role. I know that you will be an inspiring leader to all . Your life is one adventure after the other. I know I keep saying it but I hope you are keeping a journal so one day you can put this all into a book and publish it. I know it would be a big hit. Keep up the amazing work and I await each new installment of your adventures.
    XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

