Sion

Buenas

Once again, not much to report. Vera is really in a state of slow progression, but we have the baptism of my 83 year old grandma Lila this week! We have a ton of investigators, but only two or three of them are really progressing. My companion and I are really feeling like we’re working together well, but transfers are here yet again and no one knows what to expect. He’s been here three transfers now and it appears he may be on his way to bigger and better things. Seeing as how this is supposedly the hardest area in the mission, anywhere else will be full of awesome success for him. Some people have been hinting that I may be training these next two transfers. I don’t want to. Hahaha I just don’t feel ready for that yet. Whatever the case, I seek not my own will, but that of the Lord. He knows what I need now.

 

It was another week of inconvenient traveling on insane bus schedules for divisions, including the zone leaders staying with us in our pension… We don’t have extra mattresses so one had to sleep on our table and another slept on the floor with the moldiest blanket I’ve ever seen. To this point, he’s not sick. We’ll see what happens in the days to come.

I also have money again! It’s a new month and I got my presupuesto 🙂 I plan to budget it well this time. I have before, but for whatever reason, being in these small pueblos, everything is more expensive and money doesn’t go as far as it does in the cities.

We’ve discovered some new tricks to do contacts and they’ve given us some awesome results. For the most part, we just talk to people, avoiding the sales pitch approach, ask them super simple questions to really make them think (as the majority of these people are very uneducated), and use a lot of pictures. We always hold up a picture of Christ when we start the contact as that’s the only way people can really distinguish us as His representatives. It gets really frustrating when everyone thinks we’re Jehovah’s witnesses, but the people here are starting to realize who we are.

 

I’m healthy, I’m safe, just tired. Such is the mission.

 

One hermana in our rama is going to Buenos Aires this weekend to buy jerseys and other things for super cheap. I may give her a few pesos to bring be back some Argentine goodies 🙂

Love you all, thank you all, your prayers and support are truly felt and give me the strength I need to keep going everyday.

Dad, you’re awesome. Don’t ever stop doing what you do. I’m doing all I can to be more diligent and as committed to everything I do as you are. I can’t believe the season already started for BYU, but awesome. Feel free to keep me notified. The only time I have time to think about it is when I’m here on the computer haha.

Fight the good fight.

Elder Steven Reid Walker

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Vera Santa Fe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sion

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    My favorite words to this post is, ” I’m healthy, I’m , just tired.” It is good to know that you are facing each days challenges with such determination and conviction. I am sure that each of these experiences are making a lifelong impact on you, Steven. “Keep on keeping on” and keep the positive outlook on life each and every day. You continue to inspire me. I am proud to know you and so happy to still be a part of your life. You are blessed with such a loving and wonderful family. They are the reason you are the amazing young man that you are. Always thinking of you.
    XO Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

