It’s a Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood

This place is tough, but we’re moving along in the strength of the Lord. Mom, thank you so much for that scripture. It was a perfect answer to a prayer. Dad, I love you. I am absolutely certain you have been called of God for your position. He will support you. Our love for nature gives us an awesome connection. When I was traveling the other week, there was a golden eagle in the middle of the highway with a long green snake in its beak. As we came up to it in the bus, it took off right in front of us. The thing had a wingspan of like 6 feet and the snake made it look like the eagle on the Mexican flag. I can’t wait to get a falconers license. One of these days…

We’ve really put an effort on staying positive and keeping the spirit with us this transfer. My companion is awesome with awesome desires to work and love the people. With our focus on them, and how we can best shape the way we deliver the message of the gospel to their lives, we really have seen a change in the way we work. We truly are beginning to lose our lives and finding them in Christ.

There is so much pride down here. It really doesn’t matter where you are, the culture is simply very proud. We refuse to let this disanimate us. We have a marvelous work to do. The members may be hard to work with, gossip will always be a hinderance, and time may work against us, but the Lord is our guide. It is His work and it will go on. With our positivity, and faith, we look forward to miracles.

The investigators we have right now are straight up difficult. Their pride seems to make them want to fight against us. They accept the things we teach without issue, but when we try to give them baptismal dates, they tend to freak out on us and tell us that if anyone is going to set their fecha, it will be them. We have one investigator, Delia, who’s gone to church more times than I know and claims to live a life centered on her faith, she had a testimony and everything, but continues to study and compare our doctrine with that of every other religion in the area. It’s not helping her at all. She set her fecha for the 10th of October and won’t stray from it. We pray she understands the importance of all of this. We’ve done everything we know we can do, so for know, we’re stuck on our knees, fasting and praying for guidance.

Greatest lesson I’ve learned in the mission so far: Patience – I’m on the Lord’s time. I can’t be in control of every situation, I can’t plan how it’s going to turn out, but I can walk with faith knowing that however it goes down, it will be the best way. The Lord’s way.

I’m still learning. I love my Savior. I am eternally grateful for his atonement. Daily repentance is crucial. May you all continue in faith. Fight a good fight.

Always, Elder Steven Reid Walker

 

Here’s the scripture I sent him, with HIS name in place of Nephi’s, as we are to liken all scripture unto ourselves…

“4 Blessed art thou, Steven, for those things which thou hast done; for I have beheld how thou hast with unwearyingness declared the word, which I have given unto thee, unto this people. And thou hast not feared them, and hast not sought thine own life, but hast sought my will, and to keep my commandments.

5 And now, because thou hast done this with such unwearyingness, behold, I will bless thee forever; and I will make thee mighty in word and in deed, in faith and in works; yea, even that all things shall be done unto thee according to thy word, for thou shalt not ask that which is contrary to my will.

6 Behold, thou art Steven, and I am God. Behold, I declare it unto thee in the presence of mine angels, that ye shall have power over this people, and shall smite the earth with famine, and with pestilence, and destruction, according to the wickedness of this people. (Helaman 10:4-6)

I asked him to not smite the people of Argentina with famine or pestilence, nor destruction, but to continue to be faithful and do the Lord’s will 🙂 Have a beautiful week friends! ~ Marsi

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Vera Santa Fe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a Wonderful Day in the Neighborhood

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    What a beautiful and wonderful scripture your Mom sent to you. Moms do seem to know just what to say and what to do at the right time, don’t they? I know your Mom loves you so much and is so full of pride at your love and devotion on your mission and each day of your life. Your whole family feels the same way, I am sure. Sounds like life is continuing on for you with its challenges and inspirations. Each day brings something new and someone new to be touched and influenced by you and your mission. I am continually touched by the huge amount of faith and diligence that you have in what you are doing. I feel sure you are touching many lives whether you realize it or not. Keep your great attitude and adventures. I wait anxiously for your next chapter.
    xoxoxoxo Mrs. C

Leave a Reply

