Bugs, Drugs, Argentina

My fellow Americans,

What a world we live in. What a world I live in. The work is slowly progressing as we try to replenish our investigator pool. Apparently my new companion hasn’t been senior companion for very long, so we’re kind of learning how to work well and find success together. My Spanish is still coming along, always a little struggle, but time will bring more growth.

Nothing really exciting has happened this week, I don’t have much time to write today because yesterday we had zone conference instead of P-day so we only have a little time to write. We did have a fantastic lesson with a “high” couple, Caesar and Belén. We were walking down a street named Costa Rica kind of confused as to what we were going to do or where we needed to go, so we were walking to a member’s house when this couple, sitting in the grass in front of their house drinking Mate (mah-tay), called us over. We go over and just break into a casual conversation, they make fun of my companion for being a structured Canadian, apparently they had heard from friends that Canadians are super organized, as missionaries, we use planners for everything, but yeah. They called us over and we got into a really, really, involved lesson. They were eating everything up. Loving every piece of it, answering every question right, and at this point the wind changes and blows this magnificent aroma of freshly smoked Marijuana. Its at that point that we realize why our friends are so attentive, why they love the first vision story so much, and why they called us over in the first place. Anyways, I called them back to get them to invite them to church on Sunday, more than anything to see if they remembered who we were, and they told me they couldn’t make it, but that they want us to pass by this week. We’re going tonight…we’ll see how it goes.

I recently began reading Jesus the Christ. I’m in love with it. My mind is blown with every page I turn. It is seriously such a great piece of faith-building doctrinal truths. The more I read, the more I love reading in general. There is so much to be learned, so many books to be read, so many things to know, and so many ways to better ourselves with such knowledge.

In other news, I’m covered in some sort of rash. We’re not quite sure if it’s bed bugs, fleas, moldy mattress or sheets or what. I attached some pictures of my arms where its worst, but it’s all over me. If it doesn’t improve quick, to the doctors I go. I really hope that isn’t necessary.

Anyways, I love you all, I’m getting along well in the new area, my mind is still all over the place but I do have a testimony of the divinity of this gospel. It is the gospel and the church of Jesus Christ. The only one and true church established on the earth today.

Always,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Jardín América. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bugs, Drugs, Argentina

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    I am thinking you need to go and see a doctor Steven. Better to be safe than sorry. This letter sounds like your adventures continue to be more than interesting. I always look forward to hearing how your weeks are going. You are on a constant path to teach and learn Steven. Always so heartwarming to read of your love and devotion to your faith. Keep up the great work and positive attitude but please see a doctor along the way!! XOX

Leave a Reply

