Wow

I don’t know if you realize, but Steven titles each letter and this one says it all for me too. It was a WOW weekend, being able to talk with him on Mother’s Day and hear his strong and loving voice. When our phone rings, we have talking caller ID, and when the words, “Out of Area” come up, we always ignore it…but not this time! He is entirely out of the area yet I knew it was him calling around 1:50 p.m. I rushed to the phone and upon hearing his voice, I jumped up and down and just said, “Hi Steven” and “I love you” and “It’s so good to hear your voice”…and…and…and…then I asked a million questions and wanted to hear HIM speak! As we spoke, many of my family members started gathering for our annual Mother’s Day Garden Party. We put him on speaker phone and he admonished us all to keep faithful and read our scriptures and earnestly pray and keep the commandments, then he tenderly expressed his love for us. He admitted how truly difficult his mission has been, yet assured us that he trusts in the Lord and will continue onward and upward, ever faithful to His cause. I admire this boy, this man of mine, and can’t imagine a greater blessing than to know my child is serving the Lord. I love my Savior, and I KNOW he is buoying up my son. Enjoy this letter…he has a new adventure ahead of him once again…Always, Marsi 

Hello my fellow bipeds,

The Lord has high expectations for me, I believe, and my head is still spinning as this week my world was once again turned upside-down as I have been transferred to now serve in Jardín América, Misiones. It’s such a disconcerting feeling getting shipped 12 hours away from everything you know, all the people you’ve grown to love, and everything thats decently comfortable due to it’s familiarity. I miss my companion, Elder Schneider, I miss my branch, and I miss the people of Formosa intensely. I didn’t know feelings like this were possible. They really don’t have a description, solely a sense of loss. Regardless of the emotions, there is work to be done here, and even though my area is now a whole city about 4 sq miles in size, about 5x the size of my last area, I am trying to focus on the work and trust in the Lord to carry me through.

It’s interesting to me how at different times in our lives, the same thing can have different meanings. Among such things is everyone’s favorite scripture in 1 Nephi 3:7, which roughly says I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord will provide a way to accomplish the things that I must do. (And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.) Roughly… I’m still a new missionary, forgive me. But the point of this is I now find increased comfort in reading this scripture for I know that even though I might be uncomfortable, even though my branch here might not have any structure or experience, the Lord trusts me to take care of this area and this people, and he will provide the way for me to do it. I pray that he will…

My new companion is an interesting character named Elder Kruger and hails from Calgary, Alberta; Canada. I’m interested to see how we work together. He’s a very self certain, awkwardly proud guy who finds great pleasure in always being right, always making profound realizations about keys to happiness in this life, and telling me I don’t know the first thing about animals..or anything else for that matter. Those of you who know me well at all know he’s slightly mistaken in that regard. I am being patient through it all, trying to learn what I can from him, and doing all I can to keep the peace between us. There is no contention, I just hope to maintain it that way.

Misiones is beautiful. The dirt is blood red, the streets in my city are almost all cobblestone, a crude cobblestone, and the foliage is incredible. We’re constantly hiking up and down all the hills, so it’s absolutely nothing like the never ending flatness of Formosa. I’m learning to love it though.

I enjoyed talking with you yesterday, stay strong and hold to the iron rod the Lord has provided us.

I love you all.

Always,

Elder Steven Reid Walker


About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Jardín América. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wow

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    The first thing that came to my mind as I read this letter, Steven , is that you were chosen to make this move because of the strong and amazing young man you are. I feel sure that they know that you can adjust and acclimate to whatever challenge awaits you. It is because of your devotion and your strength of character that you were placed here. I know that you will deal with what is ahead of you with great patience and compassion. Each adventure we have in life is meant to teach us some kind of lesson. We do not always see it right away but can look back on experiences and see what we learned and how we grew. Stay strong and know that your family and all of the rest of us are keeping you in our thoughts and prayers each night. You are a wise and loving man who has so much to offer so many. Thinking of you always. I so look forward to each new letter from you. Until the next time. XO Mrs. C

  2. Reid says:

    Steven,
    You are blessed with a great strength and spiritual power that radiates from you. Prepare yourself for the here and now, knowing each transfer will tear your heart a little more. Remember to “WIN” (what’s important now) in everything you do. Keep up your amazing positive attitude and focus on the work. You never cease to amaze me and I can’t tell you how pleased I am with the man you are becoming. Stay in the boat, do hard things, I love you…….Dad

Leave a Reply

