And Another Week Passed

Argentina, oh Argentina, what a ridiculous place you are. In all seriousness, this place is insane and I can’t help but love it. As is common with practically all of Latin America, absolutely everything closes down for the siesta. Funniest of all is we have a few police stations in our area. They hardly do anything here, but just to emphasize how little they do, even they shut down for the siesta–a good three to four hours every afternoon from like 1pm to 4pm ish. I feel so safe. Gotta love it.

Something else funny. We had a breakfast cita last Tuesday with one of the members of our ward on the verge of going apostate. He interprets scriptures in Doctrine and Covenants that says, ”You are hereby called to the presidency of the church” to be speaking directly to him, when in fact they’re not, but that’s not the funny part. At this breakfast cita, they had promised us hot chocolate. What they hadn’t promised us was the chocolate cookies and honey that went along with it. That was our entire breakfast. Hot chocolate, a bag of chocolate cookies, and all of them dipped in honey. You really don’t want to offend members when they’re poorer than the cockroaches living in their sink, so we ate and endured the sickness that followed.

Other funny stories. I keep getting worked over by this whole language barrier thing. The other night we were at a partial-member family’s house trying to have a cita with their non member family members. Two other families from the ward show up so there’s something like twenty-two or so people here in this family’s yard. One of the teenage guys asks me to look up a scripture and read it for him. I do, he laughs, and I sit there confused. Wondering what the laughter was about, some of the other people asked me to read it out loud. Still not knowing what it really says (this is in my Spanish scriptures), I read it out loud for all these people. They all burst out laughing and I sit there feeling stupid and confused. Anyways, later that night when I got home I looked up what it was in English. The scripture was Doctrine and Covenants 60:2-3 and says:

2 But with some I am not well pleased, for they will not open their mouths, but they hide the talent which I have given unto them, because of the fear of man. Wo unto such, for mine anger is kindled against them.

3 And it shall come to pass, if they are not more faithful unto me, it shall be taken away, even that which they have.

Needless to say, I got owned by a scripture in front of a third of my branch. What can you do… I’ll learn Spanish one of these days and then I’ll be able to talk more. Until then, I’m still learning.

Other than that, it’s just been another week of missionary work. People here are chill but you can never count on them to keep their word. We showed up to probably 15 citas only to realize we’d been stood up. Just the life of a missionary.

Imma try to attach some pictures from the week one baptism we had of Yamila Escalante and the week two baptism between conference sessions of a bunch of people. I’ll probly throw in another few too.

Love you all. You’re fantastic. Write me.

Always,

Elder Steven Reid Walker

About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in Argentina. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Another Week Passed

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    I loved the pictures. You look well and healthy. I am sure that makes your family happy. I am loving hearing of all of your ” adventures ” in Argentina . I am sure you will master the language before long. I have no doubt of that. Keep up your great work, Steven. I know you are making a difference in your life and the lives of those you come in contact with. XOX Mrs. C.

Leave a Reply

