What a Blessing

My heart is filled with complete gratitude for this “boy” of mine…what an inspiration! I hope you feel something as you read this. And to those not of our faith, if you have any questions, I’d be happy to answer 🙂
Love you all!
Marsi, one grateful momma
PS He names his letters…I love the title of this one!
My time is short today as some technical difficulties have cut me down to have only 17 minutes to write with today. I will try to share what I can in the few minutes I have to work with. Last Saturday was incredible. Every Saturday we practice a “task”. It’s essentially a role play deal where we have a certain thing to accomplish for that day. This week we were to help someone move, share with them the importance of prayer and return a few minutes later to teach the Plan of Salvation and the Word of Wisdom. We don’t know beforehand who we will teach, we are simply assigned rooms. My companion and I were assigned to work with a 73 year-old lady named Sandy Boley. She’s a faithful member of the church who just loves working with the missionaries. As we finished helping her “move”, Sandy jumped abruptly out of her role as an investigator and told us she had been sick for three weeks and wondered if we could give her a blessing. A bit taken aback but slightly excited, I asked my teacher if it would be alright for us to fulfill her request. We received his permission to do so and when we finished the lesson, my companion proceeded with the annointing and I sealed the annointing and gave the blessing. It was an incredible experience that you really don’t anticipate having in the MTC. I literally heard the words I was supposed to say in that blessing and I know they did not come from me. I felt the power of the Priesthood working through me and I felt humbled and grateful for the opportunity I have to serve the Lord worthily as his Disciple.
There are so many things that I would like to describe, but I really can’t remember all of them. The days all blend together and the events that don’t carry any significant spiritual strength fade from memory. Needless to say, last night we watched a devotional talk given by Elder Holland. Anything he says pierces my soul and resonates within me. In his talk he said many things that really are of great significance to all of us. I would like to share some of those points briefly:
– We do missionaries a disservice if we expect anything less than their best
– Some of the hardest lessons we learn are the best education we can receive
– Obedience is the first law of everything
– Salvation is not cheap. We as missionaries are going to have to suffer- we are going to have to spend some time there in the Garden of Gethsemane with the Savior if we are going to bring souls to him
– Paul called missionary work “The Brotherhood of Suffering”
I wish I had time to go into detail with all of these points. I would exhort you all to think on them, even though I haven’t said much and the points are rather basic. The Savior lived and died so that we might return to live with him and the Father. I have been called to go out into the world to do his work. I will have to suffer. In all honesty, I welcome it. I look forward to the challenges and the difficulties this life will bring me. It is when I am down that I realize how much I truly need my Savior. It is when I am down that he lifts me up and shows me that with his aid, I can accomplish all things. I know that it is the same for every soul that walks this earth. Put your faith in him. Take time and get to know him. It is only through him that we are able to progress and be made clean, and I love him for that. It pains me to think I caused him to bleed one drop for me. He is my Savior, my Redeemer, my Friend. May He be with you.
Till we meet again,
Elder Steven Reid Walker
About marssea

A happy, healthy, and optimistic momma!
This entry was posted in MTC Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Blessing

  1. Jill Coddington says:

    You are truly having an incredible experience at the MTC, Steven. I know many memorable times are ahead of you. I talked to two missionaries the other day at a store in town. I introduced myself. One was from Montana and one from Utah. They are here in Durango, CO on their mission. I told them all about you and how anxious you are to get to Argentina. Thinking of you, Mrs. “C” XO

Leave a Reply

